And So It Begins…

This week marks the start of many a runners training for arguably the biggest event of the year – for many maybe the only event of the year. For this week, marks the turning of the calendar to ’16 weeks to go’. In the grand scheme of things this might seem a lot, 16 is a big number – although not so big as 112 days. However, it is a lot bigger that 4 months!!

16 weeks of approximately 4 runs per week – adds up to just 64 runs in total. Is it possible that can be enough to complete 26.2miles in just 16 weeks time?

I have a training plan courtesy of my parents – both of whom have completed the Marathon distance before! And this week I have started to ease myself into it. Tuesday was meant to be a 10k race to work of the Christmas pudding and plenty of alcohol that has been consumed – but sadly, by the time we had driven to Ripon, the race had been cancelled. So yesterday I completed a 30minute outing consisting of a healthy mix of gentle and ‘tempo’ running.

Not so healthy was the pain in my achilles in the final 10 minutes, but a good stretch and some icing has taken the pain away for now and we will test it again tomorrow.

In the meantime, I would like very much to introduce you to the beauties that will carry me through my training and hopefully all the way to the finish line.

Mizuno Wave Alchemy 10

Mizuno Wave Alchemy 10

Finally (but not to be considered an afterthought – as I shall be posting more details soon) I have decided to run for the Everyman Cancer Campaign whose aim it is to combat Male Cancers. I have set up a just giving page if you wish to donate.

Make a Comment...

