The Benchmark

OK, so last night at club we did the Benchmark session. This takes place every 8-9 weeks, except when you miss it because of the stupid snow, as happened in January.

It’s a simple concept. Designed to be all-out efforts, it’s an effective measure of charting your progress.

The reps are 900m followed by 500m with a minute rest between each rep. Each set is performed just three times, and a three minute recovery period is held between the sets. Simple.

So, let’s see how I compared to the first time I did it in just my second week at the club.

 

27/11/2012

20/03/2013

900

3:27

3:32

500

1:53

1:56

900

3:32

3:32

500

1:55

1:50

900

3:38

3:30

500

1:54

1:47

I was a little disappointed that there wasn’t a bit more improvement in my times in three months of running at the track, but then again speed hasn’t been my number one issue at the minute. However, it is very easy to take heart from the clear fact that I was better able to judge my efforts last night and showed consistent improvement in each rep (well, apart from the second 900 which would have looked better in 3:31), rather than the crash and burn type showing that occurred in November.

 

So that, ladies and gentlemen, is the Benchmark. I have no idea why those distances, but it’s a fun session and I’d encourage you all to give it a go some time.

Do you have any sessions that you do regularly to more easily chart your progress?

One thought on “The Benchmark

Make a Comment...

