Leg update – and a day out

So, yesterdays planned trip to the big city didn’t exactly go to plan as I had hoped.

I woke up with my leg still rather swollen (almost 3cm bigger than the left calf) and a message from a friend with massage knowledge who couldn’t rule out DVT as it is known in runners who run long distances, are poorly hydrated, and then sit down for the rest of the day. Pretty much sums up my weekend runs perfectly. So, this suitably freaked me out a bit, so rather than leave it until after the London trip I decided to phone the Dr’s and see if they had any available appointments in the morning. I took the last available slot at 9:40 with the ‘illness nurse’ safe in the knowledge that if I needed a doctor, she could get one.

I was finally called through at 10:15. Lyndsey was fuming and about ready to start a fight in the surgery, so I was pretty glad I called through. I sat down and told the nurse all my symptoms before rolling up my trouser leg. She was shocked by the size difference and gave them a quick feel. Immediately, she stood up and decided that she needed to get the doctor involved. This was mildly concerning.

The doctor was equally as concerned and had a good feel of both legs. They were more than a little confused by the fact that the leg was ‘soft’. Now, to me, it feels pretty solid, which I suppose is to be expected when it’s so swollen, but evidently it’s still soft in comparison to what they would expect from DVT or infection. The doc decided it was probably quite a deep muscle tear – which is a little surprising as I genuine don’t think it feels like a usual ‘muscle injury’ and because it hasn’t really stopped me doing anything just yet. It’s mildly uncomfortable at times, and I can’t squat down very easily but, hey-ho, I should probably listen to the doctor.

She prescribed me some mega-super-strong anti-inflammatory drugs, and wrote out a form which I handed to the physio at the village hospital. She wrote ‘urgent please’ at the top, so hopefully my referral to them should go through quickly In fairness, the last time I was referred to a Surrey-based NHS physio service it took almost 9 weeks and I had moved out of the area by the time I heard from them!

Super-Strong NSAIDs
Super-Strong NSAIDs

We grabbed a bite to eat on the way to the train station and I started munching on these bad-boy horse-tranq pills! I had changed into compression socks for the day, and put on sensible shoes to walk around in rather than my normal skate-shoes type footwear which aren’t exactly supportive.

 

Below is a series of pictures which basically explain our day out in London. Enjoy:

Lynds on the train, rocking the tourist look with her backpack
Lynds on the train, rocking the tourist look with her backpack
Having fun on the first escalator of the day
Having fun on the first escalator of the day
Liberties Staircase
Liberties Staircase
Cookies & Cream milkshake to share (or not)
Cookies & Cream milkshake to share (or not)

The Carnaby Burger Co. might produce a damn fine burger, but this milkshake was the first thing we ordered. It was the last thing we received after having eaten all our food. The lady was very apologetic, and so we ended up getting it for for free!! Hooray. Oh, and it was bloody incredible, I don’t like sharing though! :-)

 

Does what it says on the tin
Does what it says on the tin
Photographers Gallery Staircase
Photographers Gallery Staircase
Outside the British Museum
Outside the British Museum
Tea for Two (or just one athlete)
Tea for Two (or just one athlete)

We earned this pot of tea and scone – which was actually a miserly little represntation of a scone. I assumed it was a scaled-down version of what was to come, but no this was my actual scone. It did have plenty of clotted cream on it, and I chose Raspberry and Vanilla jam to go on top. It was scrummers, I just wish there was more of it. If you are ever in the vicinity of the British Museum, I would still recommend a little visit to the Tea & Tattle shop though for post-visit sustenance.

 

From here, pretty tied after a day on our feet, we headed for home via a quick pitstop at Sweatshop. I decided I couldn’t find anything I wanted (I found LOTS that I wanted, but couldn’t justify any of it!)

 

At the end of the day, my legs were a bit sore, but that is hardly surprising I guess. The right leg seems no more swollen that it was previously. I spent the evening with an ice pack attached. This morning, after a night out of the compression gear, the leg feels a little tight, but generally OK. Time for some breakfast now and another giant tablet!

 

Have a nice day folks!

2 thoughts on “Leg update – and a day out

    1. The swelling has definitely gone down. Feels much better after the massage I had yesterday morning, and I did 5 miles this morning which felt good. Anti inflammatories are doing their work tho too!

Make a Comment...

