#runchathunt – A Scavenging Story

RunChat is a twitter-based thing, largely States-oriented, but I came across it recently with the discovery of the RunChat Scavenger hunt. The premise is fairy simple, especially if you have done any form of a scavenger hunt in the past, as you are provided with a list of things to find, or ‘hunt’, and a deadline in which to find them all.

The deadline is 9pm ET on March 31st, so I am leaving it a little late. In doing so, though, I’ve almost got everything on the list. So here goes:

A running sticker (13.1, 26.2, etc.)
This is my one failure. We’re not as big on bumper stickers in the UK as our American cousins, so I failed on option number one. If only I had bought one of my own bumper sticker creations already!! Dammit

Bridge (bonus for covered)

A Bridge on the Downs Link
A Bridge on the Downs Link

A giant hill you’re going to run

I'll be up the top of there in a few miles
I’ll be up the top of there in a few miles

Christmas decorations still up

From the EXIF Data: shot taken - 31/03/2013 10:55am.
From the EXIF Data: shot taken – 31/03/2013 10:55am.

Historical marker/sign

This is pretty historical, and it marks out some distances. I think that counts
This is pretty historical, and it marks out some distances. I think that counts

Letters from signs to create #runchat

no # signs. So I was lucky to see this on the trail.
no # signs. So I was lucky to see this on the trail.

“Welcome to” state/city/county sign

There's something ironic about the 'drive carefully' bit having been hit
There’s something ironic about the ‘drive carefully’ bit having been hit

Water (lake/river/pond)

My favourite find!
My favourite find!

Trail marker or mile marker

This way, please
This way, please

A scene from your favorite place to run
That hill I told you I’d be on top of, well here I am

My favourite place to run. All around here!!
My favourite place to run. All around here!!

I had so much fun doing this I planned a couple of my runs over the last few days solely to hit the places where I knew I needed to be to photograph some of these things. It was also great because it helped keep my pace nice and low whilst I kept my eyes peeled for hashtags on signs everywhere and allowed me to ease my damaged calf back to health a little. Thanks Runchat, I had a blast! :-) Until next time…

11 thoughts on “#runchathunt – A Scavenging Story

    1. Thanks. Yeah, it was good fun. It’s nice to add something new to the running :-) I get some good views at the top of the number of hills I have very local to me. Today was a great morning to enjoy them :-)

      1. I live in very flat rural Nottinghamshire , bordering Lincolnshire, so hills are few and far between. However, despite that, the sunshine this morning made for some lovely views around and over the River Trent as I ran ‘county to county’ and back, for my last marathon training long run of 20miles. I’m sore now! I could never contemplate more than a marathon! You’re an inspiration!!!!

  1. Ah a Cranleigh – according to the Meaning of Liff it’s an irrational mood of irritation wit everyone and everything – I use it quite often to describe how I am feeling…

Make a Comment...

