An intriguing track session

So, by popular demand – well, Marc asked me – I thought I’d explain an interesting new concept in track running tonight.

Normally, we head down to the track on a Tuesday evening and, depending on our focus of shorter or longer races, hammer out a select number of laps with a given rest period. It’s a pretty simple concept.

Tonight’s session, on the other hand, took a little bit of brain-work to fathom out. However, I do have a degree, so I grasped it pretty quickly. Who says Photography is a Mickey-Mouse subject?

The ‘Fast 400s’ basically worked as 300 speedy metres, followed immediately by jogging the remaining 100m of the track. Upon reaching the start/finish line you run off super speedy again. You complete this 400m rep three times and then collapse in a heap for two minutes. Repeat the whole shenanigan 3 more times. Curse the coach’s name!

Simples.

Ultimately, you’re running 4x 1200m with only the briefest respite after each 300, and a fairly short recovery between each set.

Yes, I ballsed up my timings by pressing start/stop during the first rep (instead of the lap button) woops!
Yes, I ballsed up my timings by pressing start/stop during the first rep (instead of the lap button) woops!

It felt like hard work, but it was certainly a good session. And to top it all off, apparently Marc has more of that planned for the summer. Oh joy :-)

Do you do track work? How about giving this one a go and seeing what you think – let me know if you do!

Make a Comment...

