In Which I Don’t Do Running

All work and no run makes Chris a grumpy boy. All work and no run makes Chris a grumpy boy. All work and no run makes Chris a grumpy boy. All work and no run makes Chris a grumpy boy. All work and no run makes Chris a grumpy boy. All work and no run makes Chris a grumpy boy. All work and no run makes Chris a grumpy boy. All work and no run makes Chris a grumpy boy. All work and no run makes Chris a grumpy boy. All work and no run makes Chris a grumpy boy.

I’ve run no miles since Saturday, which is good because I imposed that ban on myself. But it is also bad as I don’t like not running. When a runner is sick, or properly injured, then not running is painful but not too bad because it can’t be helped. But my knee was only a tiny bit sore (and feels OK now,) and my ankle just feels like a tiny strain, so it is making me very miserable not running.

I decided earlier this week that a trip to the physio might be in order – just to check and see if there was any significant damage. So I toodled off to Cranfold Physio in the village this evening to see if Brian could take a look.

Initially he was suitably impressed by the wear-rate on the sole of my trainers – something that actually hasn’t always been the case.

dsc_0555.jpg

I did some simple squats and mobility exercises and Brian quickly zeroed in on the fact that my ankle was showing a reduced range of motion on the left side compared with the right. Prodding and poking from my quad to my toes ended up with a definite decision that the talus bone/ligament area of my foot was swollen which was difficult for me to see from my viewpoint, but apparently quite obvious from the front.

Brian did a little manipulation and massage. Told me to keep up my rest for the remainder of the week, ice the ankle, and stretch often. With any luck, by the time my self imposed ban is lifted on Monday, I should be OK to get out on the road again. I bloody better be!!!

Make a Comment...

